Australian Flag

Australian Flag

Flag of Australia - Description of the Australian Flag

As the above picture of the Australian Flag indicates the overall background is Blue

According to Ancient and Heraldic traditions much symbolism is associated with colors. The colors on the Australian flag represent the following:

Blue - vigilance, truth and loyalty, perseverance & justice

White - peace and honesty

Red - hardiness, bravery, strength & valour

The basic style shown in the picture of the Australian flag is described as Canton

All Flag pictures depict flags flying, from the viewer's point of view, from left to right

The shape and flag ratio of the Australian flag is described as 1:2 ( length twice the height )

The upper left quarter of the flag is called the Canton and pictures the flag of the UK

The Australian flag pictures a large seven-pointed star known as the Commonwealth Star which  represents the federation of the colonies of Australia in 1901

The Commonwealth Star depicts one point for each of the six original states and one representing the six original states and the territories of Australia

The Commonwealth Star is displayed in the lower hoist-side quadrant

The fly half of the Australian flag pictures a representation of the Southern Cross constellation featuring white stars

One small five-pointed star

Four, larger, seven-pointed stars

It is based on the British blue ensign as the flag was originally mainly intended for naval use

The Meaning & History of the Australian Flag - The Union Jack was first used as the unofficial Australian national flag. On 14th April 1954 the "Blue Ensign" flag became the official Australian flag. The blue ensign design was adopted over the red ensign design as red was viewed as the symbol of communism

Mobile Website Menu

Privacy Statement

Cookie Policy

2017 Siteseen Ltd