Indian Flag

Indian Flag

The Flag of India - Description of the Indian Flag

As the above picture of the Indian Flag indicates the overall background is orange (saffron), white and green. The flag of India is also called Tiranga, or Tricolor

The description of the Indian Flag is as follows:

Three three equal horizontal bands of saffron, subdued orange, (top), white, and green

A blue chakra (24-spoked wheel) centered in the white band

According to Ancient and Heraldic traditions much symbolism is associated with colors. The colors on the Indian flag represent the following:

Saffron - a symbol of courage

White - peace and honesty

Blue - vigilance, truth and loyalty, perseverance & justice

Green - hope, joy , fertility and love and in many cultures have a sacred significance

The basic style shown in the picture of the Indian flag is described as Emblem -reflecting the central design of the flag pattern

All Flag pictures depict flags flying, from the viewer's point of view, from left to right

The shape and flag ratio of the Indian flag is described as 2:3 ( length 1 times the height )

The emblem on the Indian flag pictures a blue chakra (24-spoked wheel)

The Meaning & History of the Indian Flag

The Indian emblem depicts the blue Ashoka Chakra - the "wheel of the law"

The Chakra was based on the emblem of the 3rd century Mauryan emperor, Ashoka

The 24 spokes of the wheel signifies 24 hours and progress every hour

The Indian flag was designed by a freedom fighter called Pingali Venkayya

The Indian flag was adopted on July 22, 1947 and symbolizes freedom

Mobile Website Menu

Privacy Statement

Cookie Policy

2017 Siteseen Ltd